A complete and utter newbie

Bear with me. :blush: I am a writer, novels mostly, and I bought DT Pro today on the advice of a number of my fellow scribblers from another site, as preparation for better organizing myself for my next “project.” It’s a steep learning curve for me, but I’m forging ahead. I’ve created about 7 databases and spent some time this evening moving various files and folders from my Finder into the inboxes I’ve created in the sorter. All is going well, so far.

But here’s my question–am I using up way too much space on my hard drive, essentially duplicating files by copying them into DT? I think what I want to create are mostly Replicants, so if I change one file it’s “replicated” in its twins, but by dragging and dropping files into the sorter inboxes, have I unwittingly sabotaged myself?

I’m sure I’ll figure this out at some point, but feedback from the informed would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

@Mollys Mum
Now are you sure that Vic and Keith know you’re hanging about over here?
You might try indexing rather than importing. You can do so through the inboxes in the sorter, and once you drop the file into DTPro you can make a replicant. The original document is not imported into DTPro so if you want to change anything, you need to do it in the original document and then sync it since sync only goes one way. To index rather than import, you can drag the file into the sorter inbox holding down the option key.

Hope this helps. If I’ve misstated anything, others will chime in to help. Good luck.

JRP

Seems like a lot of work from the get-go. If these are related to the same project, do you think that groups and subgroups in a single database might be easier to manage?