Accidental deletion of 2500+ files from Finder

Hi! I am new to DT…just about a week into using it. This morning, I discovered that I had accidentally deleted over 2500 files from my Finder. I’d like to not make this mistake again. Would appreciate any thoughts and guidance on the following situation:

Although I have 10+ years of research files, I decided to start small with a new project where I’m adding only new archival material and secondary sources related to a very discreet research topic.

• I am INDEXING vs IMPORTING these files.
  • The Indexed files are contained in one specific folder, deep inside my Finder.

As I tested DT, I created two Databases. Decided method for working in DB#2 was better than DB#1. Last night – in a haze of late-night work – I deleted a trial DB#1. There was some window with a warning that came up, and I clicked way too haphazardly.

This morning, I discovered that I had accidentally deleted over 2500 files from my Finder. Weirdly, the files deleted ARE NOT FROM THE FOLDERS I WAS INDEXING IN DB#1. The deletion was far more extensive. It went up one level from the folder I was indexing and deleted files across those subfolders. Like I was indexing Folder A >> Folder 1. I lost files from Folder A >> Folder 2 and Folder A >> Folder 3.

Good news: The files are all in my Trash.
Bad news: All the file structures are gone.

I have two questions:

1. Is there a way to see in the log what action I took last night at 12:03 am (the timestamp that all these files were deleted)?

2. Can you point me to some posts about best practices for indexing DT files and folders ?

Aside from the index/import; you should also be backing up your data

> Bad news: All the file structures are gone

I organize with tags instead of folder structure

1 Like

My advice is just to import. I really don’t see the point of having DEVONthink 3 and keeping everything in the regular finder? I might be missing something I guess…