Adding Year and sequential number tag to a Project folder

I have tried to mash together two scripts “Add Prefix” and “Enumerate” with modifications to arrive at something like this “13-001” or just “13001” as a prefix to a folder name (these in fact add the numbers to items contained in the folder, I really want to name the folder only):

Ideally, I’d like to auto generate a tag with that number, so that all folder items have that number associated with them. The reason I want to have a script is I want to make sure that the number isn’t duplicated. I’m using it to track project items.

I have no scripting experience and I’m not having any luck. Does someone have an existing script or could get me heading in the right direction?
Thanks.

Hey, Mindy:

Where is the number coming from ?
Is the series consecutive or does it vary from project to project?

Hi BlueFrog
Each new project will receive a unique number (my hope is to have DevonThink generate the number). So the series is consecutive, the project #s would move up incrementally 13001, 13002, 13003. Next year, I’ll change the first two numbers to 14. That make sense?

Mindy:

This is doable but I’m wondering if it’s killing a fly with a sledgehammer. You could set up a .templatescriptd Template that could generate the folder but it would actually be as simple as selecting Data > New > Group (or Command-Shift-N) and naming it yourself.

If you have “Exclude Groups from Tagging” unchecked in the database properties then adding files to this Group would get the Year-Number tag applied automatically.

It’s still possible so let me know what you think but I wanted to offer you this info.

Jim