Advantages of Multiple Databases

So…

What are the advantages? I had three databases which I’ve just combined into a single database. Managing three seemed counter-intuitive. Now, I can use the AI powers of DT to search my single database.

What are others’ thoughts? Okay, I get the ‘personal’ vs. ‘work’ thing (but frankly, don’t understand why the former should be in DT, when that’s what the OS is for).

Thoughts?

I can agree with you about a single db when they are as tightly-woven as yours appear to be. There are many others, I’m sure, who tend to work that way.

OTOH, I’m basically a retired hobbyist with several db’s relating to their respective hobbies (travel, gimmick rallies, computers). I also edit two widely-divergent newsletters so I keep track of articles and images in separate db’s. I’ve got a db dedicated to short stories that I’ve scanned from pulp magazines. I’ve got one dedicated to banking and business interests, another dedicated to “home” stuff - these two are necessary for keeping tax records together. Finally I have several temporary db’s full of junk that i need to sort through and assign to the more permanent db’s, stuff like ancient letters, miscellaneous PDFs, stuff imported from Together, and one called “Odds & Ends” (my old cinematography prof would call it “Stale Gum” after the clippings on the floor of the edit room).

And of course, the one db that I keep open all the time is the one dedicated to RSS feeds.

So there’s my assortment of databases. HTH!

added info: I’m a classic case of “scatterbrained-ness” and my organization skills are practically zero - both within the house and on my Mac. Classic ADHD.