Advice on How Many Databases

I’m new to DEVONthink Pro (a nerves-ravaged refugee from Chronos SOHO Notes) and there are a few points I’d love forum users to advise me on.

1. What are the pro’s and cons of having more than one database? In an ideal world I’d like two main databases - one for work, and one for personal information. The main problem I can see with splitting my data this way is that - as I understand it - I can only take clippings from the internet or documents in another application to ONE designated folder in ONE database. Or I have got it wrong? Is it possible to set different key combinations, so that I can clip items to the Inbox in my work database, and have another key combination to clip to the Inbox in my personal database if I choose? If not, why not?

2. Do the databases “talk” to each other? By that I mean, is it possible to do a search that will look for an item in not just one database but my other databases too? If not, why not?

3. On the same “talk” point, is there an easier way to transfer notes from one database to another rather than drag and drop to the desktop? At the moment I am test-driving DEVONnote and it’s easy to send notes from that straight to the Inbox I have designated in my DTP work database, but I can’t see a way of transferring notes from one DTP database to another. Again, if there’s no way of doing it, why shouldn’t these sophisticated databases be able to talk to each other?

Thanks for your time.

:slight_smile:

Greetings and welcome to our “family”. :slight_smile:

There are pros and cons to each.
Having more than one database allows greater focus and can help avoid information creep. I started with one massive database and it quickly became unmanageable for me. I was collecting information from many domains and would lose track because of the lack of focus.