Advise to a DevonThink Newbie

Hi ya’ll,

I am a DevonThink newbie. My old ELN company Circus Ponies went out of business and their great product is no longer under development. I have had to switch my ELN (Electronic Lab Notebook) to something else. I choose DevonThink. Btw, devon folks, it was the solutions page and a review site that convinced me.

Anyhow, CP’s product Notebook allows you to export the content in html. So I exported the whole notebook as a website. Thing is now is that I want to reorganize the content in the context of DevonThink. I had some categories and established them as separate databases, but looking at each page and deciding where they go is to labor intensive since there are over 1000 pages.

I would like to ask the user community if there is a better quicker way to do this than manually. I have to repeat this as there are more than one notebook I have to do to finish my transition. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks ,
Jose

Jose -

I, too, imported into DT thousands of notes from a different system.
And, like you, I looked for a way to handle that initial problem of “looking at each page and deciding where they go”.

As a retired software engineer, I have experience thinking about situations like this.
But I am rather new to DTPO – only 6 months experience – so maybe will change my approach in the future.

My approach so far: I don’t use tags or simple groups.
Not at all.
I didn’t spend any time setting up tags or groups.
You will not find even one tag or simple group in my DT database.

Instead, I let DT do all the heavy thinking.
And do it “just in time”.
The search function in DT is so easy, and so fast, that I see no reason to spend time in advance to apply tags or groups.
To retrieve something, or a set of somethings, just enter a search or create a “smart group”.

This approach saved a lot of time when I started using DT.
Perhaps can save time for you, too.