Archiving big files / indexing files in another database

I’m a journalist using DT as my research database. As my projects often goes into each other (people, articles, notes) and I therefor want everything searchable from one place I have one database where I keep all projects. The problem is that some of the files are very big so the db keeps growing.

Is there a way to archive a folder/file outside of the database/in another database and still keep the meta information within my research database so it still appears in searches? Much like indexing files in the Finder, but I would like to store the file on an external disk or NAS.

It should be possible to create a text record with some of a given record’s information via AppleScript. What “meta information” do you want to include?

Maybe meta information is the wrong term, what I mean is the information DT uses to fint a file in a search. Maybe index information or something like that would be more correct. What I want is kind of on alias for a file with enough information to it so I can find the original file wherever I store it. I only guess this is how indexed files works.

Yes, I got that. :slight_smile: But finding it by what? By name? By text? By creation date?

Please search for Search Prefixes in DEVONthink’s help, you’ll find all possible searches there.

Best would be if I can find it by anything, like I can find files (often PDFs) – that are in the database by name, content, creation date etc. I just don’t want a big PDF using hundreds of MB on my HDD when that project is done – I want to archive the PDF and only keep the “alias” in my database.

There is probably a way, and the folks here are likely to find it … but, with disk storage (on spinning, SSD, USB, etc.) so inexpensive these days … why not just store the “hundreds of MB” on another device, not your computer’s hard disk. I have a 5 TB disk (yes, I know way too big) just for that purpose (and other stuff).

Simplifies and reduces complexity.