auto import files from folder on my harddrive

Hi there,

I am new to Devonthink, and have a question.

I take most of my notes in .txt or .doc files, and store these in a few folders in my harddrive. Is it possible for Devonthink to scan these folders and add all new files to my devonthink database automatically?

best

Martijn

Yes, if you are using DTP or DTPO, look in the ‘Extras’ folder on the disk image. There are two folder action scripts (one for import, one for index) that will do what you want.

1 Like

@Greg: Thanks! it works, I appreciate that!

New files appear in the Devonthink ‘inbox’. Now do you know if there is also a way to automatically place them in devonthink folders? My devonthink folders have the same name as the folders in the finder.

best

Martijn

I suppose you could hard code each script to import or index the files to a specific folder in DTP, however you are asking the wrong person how to do that. I’ve never explored the scripting to see if/how that could be done. I would rather have one script to do it all as in the past, any time I’ve hard wired something like this, it always breaks with some upgrade to the application or the OS.

I can tell you what I have done with the folder action script that works well, but I think I will need to wait until the next public beta is released to discuss it. If I recall correctly, the workflow requires a change that was made in the latest closed beta version.

Now that pb4 is out, here’s what I have done with the folder action import script. There may, probably are, better ways to do this but I like how it works.

1. In DTP or DTPO pb4, set the preference for ‘Import>Destination’ to ‘Select Group’
  2. Open the ‘Action Import’ script in the ‘Extras’ folder with your preferred script editor
  3. Change the line:

tell application id "com.devon-technologies.thinkpro2" to import thePath to incoming group

to:

tell application id "com.devon-technologies.thinkpro2" to import thePath to ""