Auto index folder when updated

Hi,

I’m a newbie in using DevonThink and i have just come across a problem that i can’t seem to solve.

I have a folder full of academic papers that i find and download by using the program ‘Papers’.

I want this folder to be indexed in DevonThink and every time i add a new pdf to the folder i want DevonThink to update automatically.

I thought this was done by using the Action Index script, but by the love of god i can’t make it work. Here is what i have tried so far.

In DevonThink i have manually indexed the folder, then used the DevonThink inspector to view the folder properties, and added the Action Index script to the script section. DevonThink then indicates that a script is attached to the folder, but it never updates when changes are made via the finder to the folder (when i add a file to the folder).

Secondly i have tried adding the Action Index script directly to a folder via folder actions in the finder. I set up a workflow in automator and then added that to the folder - since, for some reason, the Folder Actions did not want to let me use the Action Index script directly.

Now i have no idea how to proceed. I have been browsing through this forum and i think i am doing it like it is described in several other posts here. However i am beginning to wonder if i have to change anything in the script itself? Currently i am using the ‘out-of-the-box’ version.

All help appreciated - and this is the first time i am setting up a folder action/automator/apple script, so yes i am a complete noob here :slight_smile:

Folder actions are only used by the Finder but you could use Synchronize.scpt (see Disk Image > Extras > Scripts > Examples) instead.

Yep that solved all my problems! Thanks!!!

:smiley:

Script doesnt seem to work.

Testing how well this works. I deleted an item where it resides then I execute the script (index for all databases) and the item still showing after.