automatic synchronization workflow

Hello, I am currently trying to used Devonthink Pro office solely through indexing certain files and creating a sort of searchable web server. I tried to create an automator workflow that everyday monitors what is located inside a specific folder and synchronize it with the database. However, it seems like there is no way of doing such a thing. The only option i see in automator is ‘synchronize records’ which doesn’t seem to help. A little help would be appreciated, especially since i’m not too good with applescript. Thanks.

Using Automator there is a way but it uses the “Filter Items” action, you can use it to give a list of files and return only the ones that aren’t in the database. Then you can index these.

but i’m wondering what the ‘index’ command is in automator for devonthink since i can’t actually see one called that.

How about the “Add items to Current Group” action? There you can choose to either import or index the files. I would strongly recommend you go through some of the example workflows that we ship and document in the online help. The examples are found in the distribution image that you downloaded from our website. It will make you feel a lot more confident with these actions.

Also don’t forget that each of our actions has a detailed description, it will display when you click on them in the action browser of Automator.

I made such a workflow and it worked. Now with the update to Leopard and Devonthink 1.5, it doesn’t work.

The workflow is:

• Run Shell script to search for pdf, html,…
  • Open database
  • Set current Group
  • Filter items (option: missing items)
  • Add items to Current Group (option: index)

The workflow gives an error in the last action, but the result for the Filter items is empty (and I added files so the result shouldn’t be empty).

The error i get is:

Anybody an idea why this fails now and not in the past?

Thanks,

Sjmielh