Basic info needed for prospective new user - help pls:

Hello,

I’m hoping someone can advise me as to whether DEVONthink would be useful for me. I’m a researcher and use OmniFocus to keep a hierarchical database of all my projects in the lab. Many of my actions have files attached, with info associated with each one. The problem is that OmniFocus doesn’t do well with attachments - it crashes with big databases, so I tried to use links to files in Dropbox instead of storing the files directly. Unfortunately the links go bad somehow with time - apparently Omnifocus just isn’t set up for this kind of use. What I need is

1. an extremely stable database of files, which wouldn’t get corrupted even with gigabytes of information

2. a way to link to files in the database from OmniFocus actions such that the files would open on any of my client machines - desktop, laptop, and iPad.

does this sound like it would work for me? how’s the stability and linking from different clients - does that work well?

how does the sync work - is there a central database on a server somewhere that all the clients connect to?

also, is it possible that I can replace OmniFocus entirely - can I use this as a database for hierarchically-organized ideas (not just files) and see the same database on all my devices once they’re synchronized?

Mike

Mike, DEVONthink and OmniFocus play well together in several ways.

There is a script that is installed in DEVONthink’s Script menu (in the Reminders group of that menu) – “Add as To Do in OmniFocus”. One selects and document in DEVONthink, and runs the script. This simply creates an action in OmniFocus’s inbox with the name of the document and places in the “notes” section of that action a clickable link back to that document in the DEVONthink database where the original document resides.