Best use for research

I am new to DEVONAgent and want to use it for academic research. I cannot quite understand how to best approach this. Ideally, I’d like to search Google Scholar +my university library + a number of scholarly databases. I typically use Google Scholar which crawls most databases anyway.

I’m struggling to see the difference and how to leverage this tool for all the power it has, so I don’t have to move between multiple systems for researching for school.

1 Like

What field do you study or teach?

I am a doctoral student researching online learning. I want to use DevonAgent to look at the effectiveness of online learning, factors of student success, and comparison between face-to-face and online courses.

My dissertation is on a different topic, outsourcing of online learning.

I’m still a relative neophyte, but I use DEVONagent’s Search Sets. Get to it via Window>Search Sets. You could create a plugin for each of the scholarly databases you want to access, then create a Search Set that uses each of those along with your university library and Google Scholar. Then, make the Search Set run every night (or otherwise consistently), and tell DA to save the results to DT or into an archive.

The most important thing I’ve figured out is that you need to know where to look and what you want to find before you use a Search Set. So, form your research question outside of DA, and then create the Search Set so that you find exactly what you’re looking for.

For one of mine, let’s call it Valcour Overview, I built a Sites list of about 20 sites to crawl or search, and I specified one plugin: Google PDF. If I had access to more of the sites that have plugins (like JSTOR or other paywall sites for which I could create plugins), I’d add those too.