betas

I hate to sound like a broken record, but is it possible to get a timeline on when the final stable release of DTPro 2 will be released? At least a plausible outside estimate?

I’m getting close to migrating away from DTPro as I begin to believe the new version might not be released for a long time (I originally expected it at the end of last year!). And, given the forum posts I see on a regular basis, I’m not comfortable upgrading to the beta.

At the risk of also sounding like a broken record …

Surely DTech will publicly post any release dates when they’re good and ready to so it seems a fruitless effort to keep asking.

I don’t really understand your discomfort. I have been using the betas for months (8 months?) and they have been remarkably stable.

I share your frustration that the GM release is slow in coming; I’m also really wishing they’d get moving on the tags as it is still not implemented in the betas, but from a stability point of view, the 2.0 betas are at least as stable as 1.x in my experience, and definitely faster.

They’re still ugly though :frowning:

A few points.

1. Maybe I am being unfair.

2. I’m just not used to trusting all my data to a “beta” program. I subscribe to the forum feed and see that people have had a number of problems. But I admit I never subscribed to the forum feed prior to DTPro 2’s beta release, so maybe it is no different.

3. Also, DTPro 1.x doesn’t quite have all the features I want while embarking on my next research project. So I’m really looking forward to 2.0

4. I think early on I attached myself to the following item that is still in their news feed, and which gave me the idea that Version 2.0 (and not the beta version) would be finished before 2009 began:

Ever since, I’ve been checking in every few days to see if the new version has come!

Yes, I need help with OCD. :smiley:

Just curious, did you use Gmail while it was beta (which it isn’t now)?