Bookends workflow problems

Hello,

I am a newbie who decided to start working with DT3 and Bookends.
I´ll do it for my professional work with some sort of academic research.

Therefor I do have a lot of documents to handle each week.

I wanted to have / wished / imagined a workflow like this:

First:

• Dropping pdf into Bookends.
  • Referencing pdf with BookEnds. (author, title, etc.)

Second:

• Indexing the attachment folder of BE with / in the global inbox of DEVONthink
  • label them (automatically?) orange = not read / highlighted yet
  • sort the pdf to the correct database and folder

My problem is now:

Whenever I sort a pdf in the correct database and folder, it appears (of course) again in the indexed inbox folder.

So when I add new pdf to Bookends, I loose oversight wich ones I have sorted already and wich ones aren’t yet in there place.

Anyone any idea how to manage that?

I am sorry to bother, but I am a complete newbie and have no idea what scripting is, since I read in the forum a lot about scripting the imports from bookends to DT3.

Take care!

I use Bookends with DEVONthink, and my practice is NEVER to move attachment pdfs within DEVONthink.

I use DEVONthink to index the folder where Bookends keeps attachments – I never import the attachments (I suspect you misunderstand what the Global Inbox does). Bookends renames pdfs that end up in the attachments folder, and does all the housekeeping there. I regard it as territory belonging to Bookends, and while DEVONthink has “permission” to keep an eye on it, I wouldn’t use DEVONthink to do anything to the pdfs there, except tag the files or annotate them in some way. Do anything else, like moving files around or renaming them, and the link with Bookends will break.

If you need the pdf to appear in a different group, you should probably replicate it there, not move it.