Can I use DevonAgent to search files on my computer?

I’m a novice DevonAgentPro user and this is my first post.
I’m wondering if I can apply DevonAgent’s powerful text search tools to files that reside on my computer?
Tks to Community for answers/tutoring!

Welcome @Sherrell

DEVONagent is made for online searching.
You could check out our application DEVONsphere Express which does allow searching local files.

Thanks Bluefrog. What I want is the ability to apply DevonAgent’s boolean and proximity search logic to a folder of, say, PDFs, I have on my computer…
Cheers.

DEVONthink and DEVONsphere Express support the same operators.

Wait. I think I’m going to need my money back here then as it seems this is a huge issue that everyone is dealing with. If Devon Agent was designed as a web research helper; but cannot include results from inside PDF files, that’s a whole lot of intelligence I’m missing out on!

I’m glad I found this thread through trying to learn about how to effectivly use Devon Agent Pro, have been searching high and low for reasons why I am not finding things inside PDF documents and today after some real effort I see I am not alone in this plight.

What I did learn, is if you download the PDF’s your interested in, Devon Sphere is fairly decent at finding at least, which PDF document the search term is in, that said I still have to CTRL + F and re-type in my search term to locate every hit. Again, something I expect Devon Agent to do so it can give me a digest as opposed to me doing the work, which is what seems to be happening here.

Either I am doing it all wrong, or somethings not working.

Yes, I have created a search set with the direct links to the online PDF’s
Yes, I selected objects and documents… still no results.

DEVONagent can search online PDFs (see e.g. “Settings” tab of search window or “Advanced” tab of search sets panel). But of course only if they contain a text layer.