Can't make static cross-links or URL links

I am still learning DT, so this may well be a matter of misunderstanding, but…

In the Preferences I have WikiLinks set to “Automatic”, and this seems to work just fine. I type in a document name in some other RTF document and the link is created for me.

However, it I try to create a static link or a link to a URL, I cannot.

The Help says: “Select any text you want to use as a link, then choose “Link To” and the link target in the contextual menu.” The problem is that there is no such choice in the contextal menu I see.

The Help (and the Manual, which seems to be the exact same text) say that if there is no go with the contextual menu, there is a command. I do have a Make Link command in the Formal menu, but it is ALWAYS greyed. Entering the keyboard shortcut, Shift-Cmd-M, does nothing other than to give me an error doink.

If I try to create a link to a URL, I get the same result. The URLs I am testing with are google.com so there should be nothing questionable about either their recognizability or existence.

MY THEORY (In the event this is not just the result of a dumb user error):
When I was originally trying out DT in February, I downloaded it and ran it for a few days. Then I decided to try DEVONnote, which I downloaded and tried only briefly. I then simply discarded the DEVONnote application, bought a license for DEVONThink, and continued forth.

I am also having an odd problem with the Back, Forward, Reload, and Keywords buttons not working which I reported earlier, and which, so far, no one has been able to suggest a solution for.