Capturing date information before sending to DT

I have the search sets working very nicely now but have one challenge - in the results in DA, there is a date column that shows the date of article. When I send the results to DT, all of the dates are changed to the current date (created, added, modified). Document date, whatever that might be, is empty. No placeholder seems to have date info beyond those I mentioned.

I have a rule in DT that changes the name of files to NAME + MODIFICATION date. But that won’t be of any help once the DA-sent article arrives in DT. Where would the date info that DA uses to sort the results be found in the metadata?

Thanks

1 Like

This information is currently not added to DEVONthink. One workaround might be to add search results via a script to DEVONthink.

Thanks, but since I have no real experience in scripting, could someone point me in the right direction. Am I telling DA to add a date field somewhere or am I telling DT to do something to the results before the import which changes the creation date to the current date?

I really need to figure this out as only about 5% of clutter free PDFs even include the date in the text. Seems a strange oversight for the export process.

Paul

You could e.g. have a look at the script ~/Library/Application Support/DEVONagent/Action Scripts/File results in DEVONthink. This script can add results in various formats to DEVONthink and can be used in search sets (see Actions tab of Search Sets window). You would have to set the creation/modification date of the created record to the date of the search result.

It’s actually the first request of its kind but noted.