Clip to Devonthink creating webloc file instead of selected format

Recently when I try to clip a webpage, I get a webloc file regardless of the format I select (paginated PDF, Rich Text, HTML page). I updated recently to 3.7.2; I think the problem may have started then. I’m running Catalina 10.15.7.

This has been covered many times in the forums.
If you’re getting persistent bookmarks when capturing as other formats, reboot the machine.

Thanks, that did it. I did try searching the forums but couldn’t find this issue. I must not have been using the right terminology.

No worries and you’re welcome.

I’ve been noticing this for several months now, running Monterey on an M1 Mac. About half the time, my first attempt at clipping using the Safari extension gives me a bookmark/webloc. If I immediately do exactly the same thing again, I get the correct format. Rebooting my fix a temporary early but the problem always comes back.

How fast is your Internet connection? Do you have any URLs that break it?

I have fiber. It’s a perfectly respectable Internet connection. I’m not using my ISP’s default DNS—mine is set to OpenDNS and Google servers.

Not sure what you mean by “Do you have any URLs that break it”, but it seems to happen all over the place.

I can’t help thinking it’s a clue that if I immediately do the clip again it happens correctly. Always. Something to do with caching, perhaps? Is there any hidden preference to change the timeout-and-fallback-to-webloc interval to something more generous?

It’s not happening over, therefore it’s either related to the websites (and therefore URLs would be useful) or to the network (although unlikely in case of fiber).

And what if you switch back to your ISP DNS servers?