Clip vs log-ins

I’m new to DEVONthink. I’ve tried to figure this out myself but am getting nowhere. I use Firefox 3.6.13. I installed the Clip to DEVONthink bookmarklet but whenever I attempt to clip something from a site - eg. FT, New York Times - that requires registration, the DEVONthink version of the page reverts to the log-in page. I’ve tried clipping as HTML, Webarchive and PDF: Same thing.

I tried to install the Firefox add-on but was only ever getting a binary file that couldn’t find an application to open itself with.

Am I doing something dumb? Is there a way around this that doesn’t involve me switching to Safari?

Any help much appreciated.

Switching to Safari will probably not make a difference-it is an issue with the New York Times site. Search for ‘New York Times’ here and you will find multiple threads on the topic.

Thanks and apologies; I should have searched before asking.

I think the problem is that DT wants to fetch the page again, but to the web site it appears as another browser which is not yet authenticated.

Maybe some of the following could work:

• open the NYT web site in the DT browser and login. Then browse with Firefox and clip interesting pages. This will only work if NYT allows you to be logged in twice. If not:

• First, browse with Firefox and save just the URLs of the pages to DT. Then, log into NYT with the DT browser and capture these pages. I guess a script could do that nicely.

• print the page as pdf directly from Firefox to the DT inbox (i.e. don’t use the bookmarklets but the file->print menu).

• select and drag text passages from Firefox to DT.

I keep a DTPO bookmark handy to the NYTimes home page, and browse from that starting point - in cases where I want a webarchive, or clip text.

I am a DT Personal user and like the product. My first post and i’m whining.