Consulting / Project Managment

I just purchased DEVONthink, DEVONagent and, Circus Ponies NoteBook this week after following the information organizer thread on Macintouch. My dilemma is that I know these products can help me, I’m just not sure how they’ll do it yet.

I’m a creative and marketing consultant and frequently have several projects running concurrently. These can range from web site creation to graphic design/corporate identity to full blown marketing campaigns. I need to keep track of everything from phone call and meeting notes to all of the collateral images and documents that a typical campaign entails. I also want to manage some of my reference images and sites that I pull off the web when doing research for the various projects.

Currently, I’m building a web site for a toy company, preparing for the international launch of a software product, writing the script and coordinating production for a promotional video, and providing general marketing and management advice to a few senior executives… it’s easy to lose track of things and, being a Meyers-Briggs INTP, staying organized is not one of my strong points. Organizing is, but not being organized.

Essentially, I want to dump everything that’s rattling around in my brain and cluttering up my desk into my computer so I quit forgetting and losing track of important information. It would also be a godsend to have all of this information in a form that I can dump to my Powerbook and take with me, rather than relying on memory or dragging files around the country.

Is anyone else doing this type of work with these tools? Are there better tools? If you’re using DT with Notebook (and I know a lot of you are…) what’s your method? I haven’t yet found a good way to make use of the two together.

I use it primarily for project management. I don’t have NoteTaker or NoteBook (though I am intrigued by both and am still on the fence as to whether they’d help me).