DA as RSS Newsreader?

I feel like a moth dancing around the RSS flame right now… my gut tells me that in addition to all of its other uses, DevonAgent can be used as an RSS newsreader for sites I’d like to subscribe to (a few productivity blogs, the Devontech forums, etc.). However, I’ve been unable to find out how to do it in the manual, and there isn’t anything about it on the forums.

I’m still a novice, so I don’t understand all the power tricks yet. My instinct is to create an automated timed crawler, feed it the RSS URLs, and let it do it’s thing once every hour or two, but I can’t figure out how to do multiple sites with no specific search terms.

Is this possible? Am I approaching it the wrong way?

Interesting, I’ve been struggling with the same thing. I basically have a list of sites with environmental RSS newsfeeds that I’d like to have routinely checked, usually for all the feeds that are new but occasionally with a focussed search. I am still not satisfied with what I’ve accomplished but I keep thinking there must be a way to do it effectively and efficiently.

ChemBob

I’m certainly not an expert on RSS, and make only very simple uses.

First, both DEVONthink and DEVONagent built-in Web browsers can handle RSS feed URLs. I’ve bookmarked a small number of such URLs in DEVONthink, and generally access them just to see what’s new.

Eric has posted a RSS URL for the DEVONtechnologies user forum: <http://www.devon-technologies.com/phpBB2/rdf.php?count=25&chars=1000

. Note that the last digits of the URL set the number of characters for a download. If you wished to see a complete thread with multiple postings, this could be changed from 1000 to 10000 (or whatever it takes).