Database Properties: Reported size includes full size of indexed files

Hi, Congrats on the new DT3. I’ve been using DTPO for several years now and really liking the upgrade. Thanks too for the 3.1 upgrade including the ability to move the tags and inboxes back within the databases. (The message for the upgrade came minutes after I’d used the hidden terminal workaround to reverse the behaviour.) It makes a lot more sense to me to have it that way. I’ll have to explore the alternative to see if that workflow makes any sense.

I’ve experimented with indexing a folder of videos on an external drive. This USB drive is permanently connected to my MacMini and contains all my multimedia, which then syncs every night to the NAS for backup.

I noticed when I brought up the Database properties that the database had increased in size by 43GB on top of the original 4GB or so prior to the indexing. I’m wondering if this is designed intentionally to work that way and why it would be?

I tested that the videos hadn’t been imported (they have the icon to the right indicating they are indexed) by ejecting the drive. The videos remain listed with all info including a preview pic visible and a message stating “Volume not mounted”. BUT, the size of the database remains at 43GB. This is the actual size of the folder on the external drive. I’m assuming (I hope correctly) that this won’t be the actual size of the database but the database PLUS the size of the videos folder. I would expect that there would be a small increase to size within the database for previews, metadata info etc but not the full size of the attached folder.
This could become confusing to some users (me) for instance if you need to work out the size that a database will consume on other hardware, iPads, iPhone for instance.

Maybe the database properties window needs a Size (actual): and another line Size including indexed data: ?

Anyone else experienced this?