Databases corrupted repeatedly

So I have three databases. They are made up of both imported and indexed files. It seems that no matter how careful I am to properly open and close db’s, shut down DTPro properly, etc. they get corrupted. By that I mean when I start up DT it gives the “database already in use!” error, and then the db cannot be opened (when I double click it just makes an error sound - no message or anything).

I know how to fix this problem (found the solution on these forums) and have done so about a dozen times now. Am I doing something wrong? Do others have this issue? This is getting pretty aggravating.

That’s certainly not normal. I’ve been using DEVONthink for some nine years. The only time I can recall a garbaged database was when while investigating a user problem, I installed a hack utility that he was using. It immediately damaged a DT Pro database beyond repair. (That was anticipated, so I had a current external backup of the database and lost no data.)

1. Are your Mac’s operating system and hardware in good shape? Problems such as a failing hard drive or a corrupted disk directory can damage files. The Disk Utility app has a routine to verify the disk directory. The OS X installation disk can check for hardware problems. It’s a good idea to periodically use a maintenance utility such as C ocktail or OnyX (updated for the installed version of OS X) to keep the operating system clean and efficient.

Check the amount of free drive space on your computer. Apple’s engineers recommend keeping about 15% of the rated size free to avoid speed problems and - especially! - to leave ample space for tempory files written by applications and the operating system, including Virtual Memory swap files. Running out of free drive space can result in overwriting and damaging files. (If you run OCR on large PDFs, that can consume a lot of drive space to hold the temporary files.)