Decoupling index from source: have all my pdf in one common location (Drive) without duplicate them on DT

Hi Everyone,

I’m totally new to DT and trying to understand if it fits my workflow requirements before committing to it.
I’ve tried to reading the forum first, but either I don’t find it or I don’t completely get it. Apologies if this has been already discussed (as I suspect anw, don’t think my case is so unique, at all).

My ideal workflow scenario is the following:
I’ve tons of documents collected over the year, stored on my Google Drive because I need to be able to access them anytime, anywhere from any device. Whether I’m working from home, from my office or on the bus/train/flight travelling somewhere. I need to work on those docs in all the above cases.
I would ideally use apps like PDFExpert and/or LiquidText to read and annotate them, but was considering DT as overrall documents manager.

I understood that I must not use Drive Folder as location to store the DT database, because size and syncing. However, I think I’ve understood from different posts that people do point DT to specific folder for its content to be indexed. Does this mean that I can point DT to a (Google Drive) folder where I store my pdfs, and DT will index it, save all DT metadata on its database on a local machine, which I can later sync between my devices via Bonjour, but without basically duplicating all my pdfs to both DT folders and Drive original source folder?

Hope all the above makes some sense and haven’t been too chaotic.
Thank youP.

Welcome @Paco

Does this mean that I can point DT to a (Google Drive) folder where I store my pdfs,

The local Google Drive folder, yes.
An online only folder, no.

and DT will index it, save all DT metadata on its database on a local machine,

Yes. The info will be stored in the internals of the database on your machine.