Deleting tags doesn't seem to work?

I’m new to DT and spending a lot of time trying to wrap my head around it, so please bear with me. I’ve tried to read up on the documentation, but there’s very little of use available about the new version and since tags are the newest part it’s even more sparse.

Scenario:
I scanned in a document via exactscan and since I decided the best way to start getting a handle on tags was to just use them, I added some tags. Unfortunately I used tag1,tag2,tag3 as the entry string as that’s what I’ve used in other systems for specifying multiple tags. This caused the obvious problem of having a single tag created “tag1.tag2,tag3” instead of three separate tags.

'K

So I go into the appropriate DB in 3 pane view, go to that file and turn the tag bar on so I can see the tags associated with the file. It’s got the one initial concatenated tag and it’s oddly picked up other tags that have nothing to do with this file.

Ok

So I just need to select one of these light blue tags (which makes it a darker blue as it’s selected) and press delete. So that looks like it worked (I.E. the ones I deleted disappear from the tag bar above the bottom right pane in 3 pane view ), and I delete all the non-relevant tags. BUT when I go to another file and back to this one all the tags I deleted come BACK!

So I go to the TAG (which I haven’t really worked with before) view instead of 3 pane view, and on the far right I have a pane with what looks like THOUSANDS of useless tags (dozens of duplications etc) all stacked up! Looks like they were auto-created when I imported some archives from my old machine?

Is there a way to actually get RID of tags like that?

I REALLY want to use tags to classify and further refine the relationships of files/documents across groups etc, but honestly I’ve found the tags implementation in DT to be totally counter-intuitive and flat out confusing/frustrating so far. :frowning: