DevonThink - a lifesaver!

Want to share a tips I had a great use of some days ago. Had some problems with my Mac and OSX Yosemite. Was most likely some corrupted files so some things did not work properly and I simply could not start my mac.

I use FileVault so no recovery partition on my SSD.

Tried with Apples excellent support and came to the conclusion that to reformat the SSD and do a clean install would not hurt. Did a backup and a clean install and decided to get El Capitan since all was fresh and I was going to download the apps I have bought from each developer anyhow.

Did the big mistake of not knowing that El Capitan could not recover all my info from my Yosemite SparseImage on my TimeMachine.

Tried with Apples Support but they do not and should not support betas. I tried to reinstall Yosemite as well but my hard drive did not accept it to be formatted in the “old” format. I am far from an expert so just thought it was fine since - I have almost all of my info inside DevonThink and the rest of my non critical/non confidential info is iCloud anyhow including music in iTunes Match.

All went fine until I came to Messages/iChat/iMessages. I thought that app was a part of iCloud but not. So since I did a clean install I lost old chats since there is no simple way to import them when you do a clean install. Since the library etc. are hidden it took me some time to figure out how to reach them on my old TimeMachine.

To the point - lately I just tested to create a New Group in DevonThink and dragged over all my messages unorganized from my backup to see how that worked.

That worked perfect and now all Messages/SMS are saved and easily searchable as well!

So I rely more on my DevonThink than on the TimeMachine for the future!