Devonthink *losing* documents

I am a journalist. I bought a DEVONthink license after trialling the software because it seemed like the ideal application to help me keep track of notes, stories, commissions, etc. And in the beginning it was very handy indeed.

However, now that I’ve started using it in earnest, storing or linking to more than 1200 files (upwards of 33,000 words), I’m finding less and less to be happy about. The application crashes frequently and often acts up, for example, if I make a change to a file those changes are not reflected in the browser window, or more often than not, the browser window just loses all data and I have to open a new one in order to view the database contents.

These and other inconveniences are easily overlooked or simply endured for the sake of the greater functionality which DEVONthink allows. But I have just lost a critical document which I have spent the last 2-3 hours working on in DEVONthink. I saved my work repeatedly, only to find that DEVONthink has lost any sign of the document - there’s not even any indication in the History record that it was worked on.

Words cannot express the frustration and disappointment I feel with DEVONthink at this moment.

What’s the deal, DEVONtechnologies?

Sorry to hear about that. I know it must be frustrating.

But my DT database is now over two years old and has passed the eleven milliion word mark, so I can vouch that DT can generally retain stuff pretty well. I rank it as the most stable, productive db application I’ve ever used.

On the off chance that your document may not have the name or location you thought, try a global search on some of the terms it contains. Hope the content shows up! (This has happened to me.)