DT as private cloud?

If this has been suggested before - apologies, please treat this as a “+1” vote…

I’ve been using DTPO for several years. In a very limited way as far as features go, but still it has become my offloaded brain, my RSS feed reader, my long-term email archive, my book/article collection, my accountants interface, and more - using a number of separate databases. It’s been on my main iMac, with the main database open most of the time, increasing in value (for me) day in / day out.

The main database is 10 Gb, plus some 35 Gb in the rest of 'em.

Not all of it needs to be available all the time and everywhere I go, but that main database is yearning to move into the cloud - always in reach, that is. I’ve recently started syncing some key groups with an iPad, which is a wonderful step forward and goes a long way.

But now that my main desktop iMac is no longer the center of my universe, it becomes less convenient to keep DT tied to it, since that machine isn’t always on. For the iPad that’s ok, since it’s read-mostly and not a total working environment anyway, but for my MBA laptop, this setup is becoming less convenient.

With those preliminaries out of the way…

It seems to me that DT would make the ideal “private cloud” service: an app (not necessarily full-fledged and with GUI), running on some always-on server, which acts as repository and provides DT services to “client DT apps” running on various machines.

Not everything has a place with big internet storage providers (S3, iCloud, etc). For my personal use, I get a lot more stability and continuity (I’m talking in terms of decades here), than all those shiny bits from all those flashy-but-ever-changing 3rd parties on the net. YMMV.