DT Best practice

I am new to DT and am exploring the best way to use it. I already have a structured filing system using Finder and Folders but feel that DT could increase my productivity. I currently have the following file types: pdf’s, web archives, notes, circus ponies notebooks and excel files. All my current folders will contain at least one of these file formats.

Ideally I would like to just use DT in index and sync mode as I would like all my files to be available in Finder, however, as I use a laptop and sync all files between my desktop and laptop via phd’s this will not work as indexed file paths will be different on the laptop to the desktop. Therefore, it seems to me that to use DT properly on both machines I will have to import files into the DT database.

If this is the case, what would be the best way to manage the different file types. DT can handle pdf’s, notes and web archives but not excel and circus ponies notebooks files. Therefore, should these files be left in Finder or imported into DT. If imported should the original file in Finder be deleted?

If the best advice is to put all files and types into the DT database, I am slightly concerned with the overall size of the resulting databases. The current size of all my data is about 90Gb. I realise that I could split this into several distinct databases but if one has more than 6 or 7 does this become cumbersome to use?

I am interested in people’s advice/experience when using DT in practice with my setup and requirements.

You can have the same results with indexing and importing documents.