DT/DN for College - Calling all DT Ninjas - I need your opin

I’m attempting to find the most efficient way to set up my workflow with DN/DT for my college classes. I’m an undergrad student so I have a mix of Math, Science, Humanities etc.

My sole computer is a MacBook Pro Laptop and the programs that I currently use in my productivity work flow are:

FireFox
OmniFocus/ Omni Outliner / OmniGraffle
MindMap Pro
NeoOffice (OpenOffice) / Scrivner
LaTeXiT
Gmail - Gdocs - Greader

If any experienced DN/DT users here have experiences they’d like to share, proposed workflows/templates etc. It would be much appreciated.

Thank You

An awfully broad question. I managed to get through college and grad school with none of those tools (heck, the closest thing to a laptop at the time as an Apple //c) so it can be done :wink:

But IMO DEVONthink is great for taking notes and collecting data (PDFs, web pages, RTF documents, etc.,) And you can mostly keep “to do” lists inside of it.

You could use OmniFocus in conjunction with it, if you really need to track deadlines and lists of “to do” items. But, really, when I was in college I don’t remember such a need for “to do” lists. I didn’t need to make a list that told me I needed to study, and I didn’t need to track what I needed to study, because that information was typically provided in all the syllabi.

What I probably would do today, because it worked for me, is take notes for classes that required tons of reading in DEVONthink. Instead of using a highlighter, I’d actually type key stuff into DTP that I could review later more quickly, instead of having to crack the book again. But that’s just me – if I don’t take special measures when reading history, economics, etc., I tend to have my mind wander and miss stuff.