DT Pro for detecting in-class plagiarism?

Has any teacher or academic considered DT for detecting in class plagiarism? You import a bunch of essays into DT Pro over several semesters. Then you run some kind of similarity search. DT Pro lists essays in order of similarity? I am still new to DT Pro and I don’t know if this is possible or how to do this. Any general thoughts or specific thoughts appreciated.

Note: I am not talking about getting essays from the Internet. I am talking about essays circulating around campus.

You might be able to use DT Pro in interesting ways to find and analyze similarities between papers.

If two or more people turn in identical papers, DT Pro will probably flag them with the names in blue as duplicates. Case closed. :slight_smile:

Or, open a paper and click the “See Also” button. It will then list other documents that have contextual similarities. Of course, that doesn’t necessarily mean plagiarism, but examining the “most similar” documents would likely prove interesting if plagiarism is going on.

You can also analyze the word content and the frequency of use of terms in documents. Open a document in its owen window and press the “Words” button. Pick an “interesting” word and double-click on it. This will open the search window. Press Return to initiate the search. Documents with very similar rankings for that term might be work looking into.

Here’s another trick. Near the top right, click on the “>>” symbol. A drawer will pop out to display a list of “interesting” words in the document. Pick a somewhat unusual term and click on it. The drawer will now display a list of other documents that contain that term, with ranking. That can help detect very similar documents.