DT3Pro - Encryption/Security - Big Picture & Details

juranta

Greetings,

Forward: I recently made the switch to Macintosh and am new to DT3. My apologies.

Introduction: I’m on a quest to use DevonThink3 for as many purposes as I can instead of having a specific application for everything.

Body: My main concern at the moment is security. After reading [Juranta’s] posts and some others - I am feeling iffy about using DT3 to store passwords or any financial/medical records in DT’s encrypted database.

Resolution: [Juranta] points out some general security concerns and issues with Sparse image/ Sparse Bundle… (not sure if the latter is a concern). Some other posts talk about creating a encrypted disk image through which to operate the encrypted database and mount it and then dismount it after use each time.

Conclusion: Once again, I am a novice to both these systems so if someone could provide a comprehensive overview as to the security of DT3 and a detailed description of what additional steps need to be done if possible to secure the already encrypted database in DT3 - that would be extremely helpful.

:orangutan:

1 Like

An encrypted database functions no differently than manually creating an encrypted disk image, logging into a drive encrypted by FileVault, or unlocking your phone.

Data is encrypted when the device is locked, user not logged in, the image unmounted, or the encrypted database not opened. The data is available after the unlocking, logging in, mounting, or opening the encrypted database.

The dtSparse file’s mounted volume should not be visible in the Finder, on the Desktop, or in Disk Utility, so it shouldn’t be notiecable to casual inspection.