DTTG: reflect amendments in DTTG made in native apps

Hi!

I am new to DevonThink and I am just getting started to see how everything works. I’ve been able to set up the sync between my Mac and my iPad.

One thing I loved about the Devonthink Mac is that I can open a document imported in DevonThink in a native app (say Microsoft Word), and every amendment/edit I make will be reflected in the document stored in DevonThink!

My question is: will this also work for the iPad? I work also a lot on the iPad. There currently is no option to edit a Word or Excel-file from within DTTG (and even if there would be, I would still prefer to edit in the native apps of Microsoft). I would love it if I could open a document from Devonthink To Go in Microsoft Word or Excel, make some adjustments, press save, and that these amendments would be reflected in Devonthink!

Is this possible?

Thanks in advance!

afaik This is not possible in IOS; a limitation of the operating system

Not currently, but this is a limitation of the current version of DEVONthink to Go, not a limitation of iOS/iPadOS. The developers have indicated that this is a feature that they would like to add to a future version of DEVONthink to Go.

1 Like

From within another app, you can open a file from DTTG (through files app integration) and then automatically save back to DTTG.

Thanks! Is that the “document provider extension” premium function of the DTTG app? I can’t figure out what this document provider extension actually does if I buy it

Do you want to use Word/Excel to directly ‘edit a Word or Excel-file from within DTTG’ or use Word/Excel to open open a Word or Excel file located in a DEVONthink database? Because they are not the same thing. One is possible with the current version of DEVONthink to Go, the other is not.

Ideally I would like the latter as is possible with the Mac version of DT. But I understand from your answer that that is not possible.