Duplicates in a smart group or in a new folder

I’m still new with DevonThink, so I might need some help if possible.

I have all my e-mails from Outlook imported and also from an old backup. How can I scan my database for duplicates and put them automatic in a new smart group called duplicates ? So I can check them from that smart group and then delete them… ?

Thanks

There should be a default smart group “Duplicates” in the Smart Groups section of the sidebar but you could also add a new smart group to your database and use the condition Item is Duplicated.

Great ! That’s the solution - many thanks :slight_smile:

Sorry, just one extra question : is there a script that I can run in the future to search in a particular database for duplicates ?

You could create a new smart group or duplicate the existing ones and change the search scope (see Search In popup of smart group editor).

I’m not sure what you mean what I should do ? Is that a smart rule ? Or could you help me with some steps I should take ?

1. Create a new smart group e.g. via the contextual menu
  2. Add the condition Item is Duplicated
  3. Set the search scope via the Search In popup

Like this ?

But how to run the script to search the database for duplicates ?

All you have to do is to select the created smart group and it will show its contents like a regular group.

OK, thanks.

And if it is highlighting for example 3 duplicate e-mails - I can delete all 3 ? Or only 2 ?

You shouldn’t delete all of them, e.g. in case of two identical duplicates you would have to delete one. Or you could just select the results of the smart group and use Scripts > Data > Move Duplicates to Trash which handles this automatically.