E-mailing a doc or adding as attachment.

I’m relatively new to Devonthink but can’t for the life of me figure out if I can e-mail a document from within Devonthink, or open a document with Entourage, for example, and have it become an attachment. I may be out to lunch, but I’ve clicked and seached help till I’l blue in the face!

Please help…

n

I think DT only exports to the Mail.app supported by Apple.
Under the Scripts menu, use Export: Send to…

You may copy/paste contents from DT to an Entourage message.
Or export an item from DT as an RTF file and attach that to an Entourage message.

One possibility is to drag documents from DT to the Desktop or a temporary folder where they can then be attached with Entourage. And DT documents can sometimes be dragged directly into another app, e.g. a PDF into TextEdit.

I just tried the ‘Export: Send to…’ script and it worked fine with Entourage. I’m not sure why, or how it works, but perhaps it works with whatever program you have open? I don’t use Mail, and it didn’t open it, so the script must not specify.

So, if you are using Pro, you should be able use this script to send things via Entourage. You’ll have to enter the address you want to send to manually (the script prompts you). Also, it does it all in the background, which is nice.

Alexandria

[quote=“alexwein”]
I just tried the ‘Export: Send to…’ script and it worked fine with Entourage. I’m not sure why, or how it works, but perhaps it works with whatever program you have open? I don’t use Mail, and it didn’t open it, so the script must not specify.

I have 1.9.3, and it doesn’t say Pro anywhere. I don’t see a Scripts menu under DevonThink and the Mac scripts menu doesn’t reference DevonThink or Export, Send to. The Export: under the file menu doesn’t have a Send to option. Is this in Pro?

Doesn’t make any sense export a document to yet another file or folder just so I can e-mail it.