Editing columns

If I have emails displayed in DTPro, I want to have columns such as From, To, etc. They are available by clicking on column heads, but I can find no way to edit them. What am I missing?

What are you trying to edit??

I need to insert the names for the scanned documents under the fields “To” and " From" provided by DTPO but it is not possible to do so. I need to sort the documents from senders and/or recipient for the scanned documents.

Please advise.

Regards

Laurence

To and From are metadata related to emails, not scanned documents.

You could use the Spotlight Comment field… to:Mona Lisa.

You could also use Tags (compound or simple)…
to:Mona Lisa (simple)

It hasn’t occurred to you that your users might have copies of emails that they have received as scanned documents? I am a lawyer trying to deal with a collection of thousands of emails. I would like to sort and filter them using a column that is built into Devon, but I cannot. This is a serious limitation on an otherwise excellent product.

As I said before, To and From are email-specific metadata. As such they are read only values taken from the document metadata. This is a standard mechanism, even across platforms.

Utilizing Tags or Spotlight Comments for custom metadata is also a common thing and Smart Groups can also be employed in searching and to create virtual folders of these files.

Note that this metadata of interest in an email document is lost if the message is printed to paper, then scanned to result in a searchable PDF document.

Which is to say that furnishing the information content of an email message in searchable PDF format is not equivalent to furnishing the email in its native file format. Information loss of this kind isn’t the fault of DEVONthink.