Exporting Database for Use on Portable Drive

Below is a list that describes the kind of help for which I am looking. Thanks in advance for any help anyone might lend!

(1) I would like to keep my DevonThink Pro database on my portable drive. Why? Because importing files into DT on my laptop eats up too much disk space for my pleasure or comfort.

(2) I would like to import PDFs and other files to this DT database on the portable drive along with all of their metadata, i.e., whatever copy DT might want to keep on my laptop hard drive, I would prefer to be kept on the portable drive. As you can see, my objective is to save disk space.

Are any or all of the above possible? If so, how? I would appreciate it if your response could be simplified as I am a bit new to DT. Again, thank you.

Yes, as you are Import-capturing content into your database, the database is self-contained and can be moved to and run on an external drive. Of course, the portable drive should be large enough to accommodate database growth and robust enough to handle all the read/write accesses that will be called. Your DT Pro application should be installed in the Applications folder of the computer to which the portable drive is attached.

To make the move, Quit DT Pro, as an open database should not be copied in the Finder – the copy might be incomplete or have errors. Now copy the database to your external drive.

DT Pro ‘remembers’ recently opened databases in File > Open Recent. As you will no longer be using the database in its previous location on your laptop’s hard drive, it’s a good idea to erase DT Pro’s memory of that location, to prevent accidentally opening the wrong database. Choose File > Open Recent and choose Clear Menu.