Exporting

I’m new to DT and have been evaluating a number of data storage, notebook options. One of my criteria I use for comparing the apps is the export function. I have been caught before with apps that will gladly swallow my work but wont give it up so easily if I need to migrate to another product. I don’t want to lock my information into a proprietry format. DT looks good (a bit overwhelming actually) but I have concerns about how to get the information out if I needed to.

Perhaps I should add here that a common usage pattern for me would be:
a) collect snippets of info eg. a jpeg
b) write my own bits
c) group related bits
d) export to another app for document collation and final publication
I often have a need to create long documents from related shorter pieces that I have written, compiled.

I have also read about forthcoming versions PE and PRO. I’ve looked at the website but can’t find reference to these. If I buy DT now, what will I get ?

If you buy DT now, you can sign on to be a beta tester for DTPro (quite good). You can upgrade to DTPro 1.9 for the price difference.

Be aware that the upgrade to DT and DTPro 2.x will be a paid upgrade unless you buy either within 3 months of it’s release, AFAIK.

I haven’t used DT in some time so my comments below refer to DTPro alpha.

DTPro will export documents that contain images and text as RTFD.  These are easily read by text edit and probably appleworks.

Exporting via DTPro does not preserve an embedded image when choosing Word as the format.
The RTFD format does preserve the embedded image but Word cannot read RTFD. OPML seems to lose the image as well. I don’t see an option for HTML/XML export. I suspect that HTML would preserve the image and text and be quite portable.

Perhaps it could be accomplished via an applescript…

You can always export the rtf/text/opml doc and image as separate items and create a new word doc using them individually. DTPro exports the group nicely.

HTH