Fastest access to often used files?

Hi,

I am new to DtP and noticed I can only pull folders/groups to the sidebar. But I want to put files there that I use daily or frequently - just like I can do with the sidebar in PathFinder and Finder. No way?

How do you access such files fast? Do you make a detour via a group, click the group in the sidebar and then access the file?

Ok, I could let DtP show me the original and make an alias for the Finder or could pull it into a DragThing dock or the Apple dock and edit it with the default application. But I would like to stay within DtP.

Kind regards,
Bernd

I have a group named “- quick links” that I have under favorites. Anything I want to access quickly I replicate to it by holding command+option and dragging over the group in favorites. It’s an extra step but it works. Note that if you drag over a file that’s in a different database from the “- quick links” group, it will duplicate rather than replicate it.

Thank you, that’s a very good one and helps me to make decent use of DT ‘right out of the box’! And thanks also for the note - have not been much into replicants yet and the many options with modifier keys.

I still would like to have the option to drag files to the sidebar and see no reason, why that is not implemented. Maybe DEVONtech includes this someday.

Kind regards,
Bernd

[Edit: I have asked this now on the scripting board]:

have another question and as it belongs to the topic I don’t want to start a new one:

Is it possible (scriptable) to access a group in DT via a script from outside DT?

That would give me even faster access to frequently used files. Instead of bringing DT to front, click on the group in the sidebar and clicking on the file I could call the group via a script directly and open the file.