[feature request] Remember page, when reading PDF

I have a lot of PDFs which I read. I’m brand new to DevonThink and still learning what it does and what the best appliances are to make use of it.

When I double click a PDF I find my self in the PDF-reader. That’s nice. But when I exit that view and then double click the PDF again, I’m always back to the starting page. This is not very helpful if you try to read a long PDF or actually work with PDFs. If you leave a PDF, chances are you may want to pick up at that place. I think this applies much more often than wanting the start page.

Is there any way I can tell devonthink to remember the page I am one when I close the PDF-reader?

Does nobody know?

I’ve noticed the behavior is erratic - sometimes it re-opens the PDF viewer window on the last page viewed, sometimes the first page, sometimes the page at the bottom of the sidebar, sometimes at the next-to-last page. Bug?

Hey korm,

thanks for your reply and interesting find. I couldn’t trace a pattern so far just noticed the first page behavior and found that not to be smart.

So maybe tag this “bug report” instead of “feature request”. If anybody of the devs reading this? How do we notify them?

Your posting will get read.

OK, next step: provide a fix :slight_smile:

I have also requested this feature because … well… I don’t know how to explain in any other words, but reading pdfs in dtpro is practically useless because of this and also the lack of a default zoom level when reading pdfs. Without a default zoom level then when I zoom up a document or pdf using ⇧ ⌘ + then switch to another doc and back to the original, the zoom settings are lost. So, not only is there no default zoom but the zoom levels don’t stay.

Maybe this is little off your topic but…let me know what U think…

Your suggestion has a lot to do with this. Saving the exact view of a PDF is the way to go, if that technically is possible.