function for importing a large bibliographic database

Surely this has been raised before, but in any case I’ll raise it again. It would be AWESOME if there were a command or script in DT to import and parse a flat database file, separating each record to make individual notes or files within the DT database. I saw another user (over in Usage Scenarios) just suggest this for Hypercard stacks. Yesterday I asked about this (over in Tips and Tricks) in the context of importing my existing StickyBrain data into DT. And today I thought of an even more incredible usage of DT, if only I could do the import. I’m a scientist and I use Endnote for organizing my references in manuscripts. Over the years I have built up a collection of 4 Endnote libraries that collectively contain about 4000 bibliographic records, each of which includes fields for the manuscript abstract, author information, notes I’ve made about the paper, and more recently even the URL for downloading the full pdf from the journal. This would be a veritable motherlode for DT to go to work on. I could easily ouput all the data into a single text that demarcates each entry by some uniform separator (character, tabs and spaces, period at the beginning of a line, etc). But at the moment, were I to import this into DT, it would come in as a single enormous file. I bet some ingenious Applescripter could figure out how to translate this into something that DT would recognize as 4000 separate files, but I don’t have any experience scripting, myself. I’d LOVE to be able to use Classify and See Also to mine all the data I’ve already got, and to manage the tsunami of new information pouring daily into Pubmed/NCBI and the many journals. I bet a lot of other people would, too. Can anyone help? Any hope for this in the future?

Have figured out a workaround on how to do this… have posted it as it’s own topic under “Tips and Tricks”:
devon-technologies.com/phpBB … =5392#5392

Hope this helps…