Getting ready for school

Hi, I’m new to the DEVONthink world and I had a few questions/queries to ask to the DEVONthinkers out there.

I am heading into University very, very soon and I would like to be more productive during my time there. Of course, one of the most important aspects of University are my notes.

I was recommended DEVONthink to database the notes I have taken/typed so that I have a clear way of seeing all my notes, parts of notes all depending on my preferences at that moment.

So, is DEVONthink the way to go? If so, how would I go about organizing the soon to be new knowledge to my brain?

Thanks for your input. ( in advance :smiley: )

I recommend that you purchase DevonNote, which is plenty of power for class notes and paper research, unless you plan to store many PDF files.

If that’s the case, buy DT Pro (there’s a discount for students) because it handles more file formats.

As for organization of data, you might start by creating a main file called Courses and then a sub-file within for each of the courses. Anything relevant to a course (web page, Word file, image, paper draft, etc.) just drag and drop into the appropriate folder.

In other folders, you may want to store copies of calendars, addresses, maps, and general information. You will figure out how to organize the data soon enough, and the search function will locate information for you very quickly.

Sounds very close to what I need and what I would think of doing.

I have yet to purchase this and since my budget is somewhat limited, I am thinking of other variabilities as to which product is best.

AND I want something I can grow into, in which case the DT pro with student discount sounds great. However, Filemaker is giving away a Campus Productivity Kit and I wasn’t sure if one was significantly better one way or another.

I will look into it more, thanks for your advice.