Good word processors to use with DTP

I’m new to DevonThink Pro, and want to integrate tightly with word processing and other academic software. I’ve been using Word 11 for Mac, and while I’ve owned NotaBene for Windows for years, I never really mastered it.

I’m wanting to explore a new word processor for the Mac, but want to make sure that whatever tools I get are integrated (or at least play well together).

With that in mind, what opinions do folks here have about:

Mellel
Nisus Writer Pro

for academic work with DTP? And might there be some other option I’m missing?
Thanks in advance for your help!

I have only been using DTP for under a week but have had no problem at all with using latest version of Pages.

Before I bought Devonthink I tried to go paperless with FileMaker.

FileMaker is a great program and was ok to use except - the containers inside FileMaker could not store .pages documents from the latest new Pages. Something to do with the structure of the files I was told by their support.

I have no problem whatsoever to store .pages or .numbers in Devonthink.

I bought NWP a while back – had a quick look, but haven’t really explored it. When I’m done with my current project, I’ll delve deeper.

My academic workflow currently involves Scrivener to do the creation, before compiling (as a final step) into MS Word. Word is merely the final step to get things into a format that 99.991% of everyone else on the planet will be able to use.

NWP looks to be incredibly powerful – but since Scrivener does all the heavy lifting, and Word only sees a few minor tweaks to formatting, I’m not really sure of how I would use NWP.

That being said – if Scrivener doesn’t feature in your workflow, and you’re creating inside a full-on Word Processor – then I would certainly recommend a look at NWP. Just be sure to clarify whether there are ever any problems with exporting the final product into the .docx format.

I’m completely with Cassady here