Groups, folders, tags

HI All,

I’m new to DevonThink and I’m currently evaluating if this solution will fit my needs. As a beginner, I’m having trouble grasping the concepts of:

1. Group
  2. Folder
  3. Tag

In the context of DevonThink application how do the above items relate to one another?

Thanks,
Kevin

Hi Kevin,

Group is the official name for Folder in DEVONtechnologies products. Just different names for the same thing.

There’s a simple explanation of the relationship between Groups and Tags in this blog article:

Tuesday Tip: Prepare for tagging

And no shortage of informative forum discussions on that topic though it can take time and patience to dig for/through it since there’s no convenient index/roadmap to that and lots of other useful content.

Joe Kissell’s Take Control of DEVONthink 2 Ebook, discussed in Has anyone tried the new DevonThink eBook?, may be generally helpful.

Great! Thanks for the reply. Just knowing that Groups is same as Folders makes things much clearer for me.

Well, almost the same; it’s good enough for a first approximation, or perhaps government work. :slight_smile:

In DEVONthink parlance, groups hold documents, just as Finder folders hold files.

But there are differences, notably in the differences between making aliases of Finder folders and files versus making replicants of DEVONthink groups and documents. An alias is a pointer to a folder or file. Delete the alias and the folder or file remains in the same location; delete the folder or file, and its alias now has nothing to “point” to. Whereas, a replicated group or document is another instance of the “entire” group or document; It makes no difference which of two replicants you delete, the other is still the “entire” group or document. Basically, replication is a low-overhead way to allow one to file items in multiple locations.