Help needed: script for extracting first line from record

Hi,

after having successfully imported my records from NoteTaker with the help of a humble macro processor that simulates key presses (see devon-technologies.com/phpBB … php?t=4907 for more details), I now need to edit the records.

More specifically, I want to extract the date I created a clipping from the records, and set the DTP record creation date to it. This will allow simple sorting by date, which is often needed for my analyses.

As I am a bloody amateur at AppleScript, any and all help in writing such a script will be much appreciated! Let me state what I have in mind.

The clipping date is in the first line of each record. Its format is something like this:

Clipping von heise.de/newsticker/meldung/print/46746 26.04.04 10:45:

So the general format is
Text Address Date Time:

I would need to extract the Date and Time (and ideally the Address), and put them into a script that loops through the records of the group in which I store these clippings (it contains 1625 records, thus automation is advisable :smiley: ).

Already a rough skeleton for such a script would greatly help me, as I have very little experience in AppleScript so far. Also, how I select text from a record is completely unclear to me. Once I know the general direction, I can experiment with the details.

Many thanks in advance for any help,

Andreas

tell application "DEVONthink Pro"
	set theSelection to the selection
	repeat with thisSelection in theSelection
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to ASCII character 10
		set theText to the rich text of thisSelection
		set theFirstLine to text item 1 of theText
		set theRest to text items 2 through ((count of text items of theText) - 1) of theText
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to " "
		set theURL to (text item ((count of text items of theFirstLine) - 3)) of theFirstLine -- the URL.