How do you use DevonThink??

I am very interested in how others are using DevonThink.  I believe it is a great program and I want to learn to get more out of it.

I use it primarily as a library of client and marketing notes, book summaries (that I have created), and reference manuals (PDFs).  

I’m not sure I’m getting as much out of it as I can, so please post how you use DevonThink.

Thanks,

Joel

Joel, I’ve been using DT for months, but I’m still learning.

I run a small foundation created to support international environmental science and technology exchanges. I’ve got thousands of references and notes (text, RTF, Word, PDF, HTML, IE Archives and others) that will ultimately be incorporated into DT databases. Topics of interest cover a broad range from environmental policies, laws and regulations, to research and technical literature on environmental media, risk assessment and health effects of hazardous substances, environmental sampling and assessment, site remediation, and so on. A major objective is to support graduate training and education. In the past, I’ve done water quality literature reviews specific to a number of countries (Egypt, Poland, India, Chile, Phillipines) or on topics such as leather tanning, solid waste management etc. relevant to developing world environmental topics.

On a daily basis I scan the Web for references that I’m putting into DT. Sources include journals such as Science, Nature, Environmental Science and Technology and many others, plus governmental Web sites. Content is added to DT either through RTF capture from Safari via Services (RTF), with manual copy/past of the item’s URL or as LightningText PDF conversion (resulting in separate storage of the original PDF file, plus RTF content and link to the PDF file in DT). Adding content in these ways is quite fast, although it would be nice if DT automatically input Web URLs. For Web searches, I’m looking forward to playing with DEVONagent.