how to lose 'search' window?

Hi - I’m new to DT, and I’m very impressed so far.  Quick question, though:  once I’ve done a search, how can I get rid of the search window (in upper half of DT window, in Note-pad view)?
thanks,
malcolm

Just figured it out:  click on the little icon in the Find-bar!  Will post another question about something else now -
malcolm

I’d like to request a keyboard shortcut (e.g. <escape>) for that; the ‘x’ isn’t the easiest target to hit when using a trackpad.  I’ve noticed <escape> works in iTunes, but not in Finder.  Shame on Apple for that minor UI inconsistency in their own apps. :wink:

And I’d prefer if input focus remained in the toolbar search field after searching, at least when a search fails so you can immediately enter another.

Just clear the search field and press return.

What about leaving input focus in the search field?

Input focus stays in the search field for me.

TiBook, OS X 10.3.2, DT 1.8.1

Hmm.  You’ve typed command-option-F (focus in toolbar search), then any string followed by return, gotten the No results found! sheet, dismissed that, and focus was still in the search field?

Ahh, using shift-command-F (Search… tool) behaves as you say.

I’d say it’s best they be consistent, whichever way that is.

by the way … is it possible to enable "Fuzzy"-Search also in the normal search field?