How to retrieve fields from Apple Mail emails archived in DT3 (latest beta)

I’m a beginner with AppleScript but definitely see the potential for automating some of my work with DT3. The basics e.g. retrieving and processing a DT record etc… I understand. For instance I can retrieve the name and Reference URL of a record.

Right now I’m wondering how to extract the fields of a selected email my archive. As an example based on the metadata name I’ve tried (unsuccessfully) the following to retrieve the information of the email sender:

set recordFrom to get custom meta data for "From" from thisRecord

Thanks for your help and tips.

Did you actually create a custom definition of From in Preferences > Data?

I selected it here in the Metadata Menu. I thought this would be sufficient ?

That is not a custom meta data definition. Those are listed in… wait for it… CUSTOM METADATA :stuck_out_tongue:

Also, displaying field in the interface doesn’t affect AppleScript. You could disable all the columns and still successfully get the desired info.

Remember: Automation on a computer is not about replicating mechanical movements and rarely need to interact with the interface.

So you need to be addressing the properties of a record.

Understood and point taken - however if I try something like

set recordFrom to (From of thisRecord)

or similar it doesn’t work either. So what steps to I take ? It’s a normal imported email and I don’t see the name of the property listed.

Have you looked at the AppleScript dictionary for DEVONthink?
And the Automation chapter in the built-in Help?
Check out the Basic AppleScript Terminology section of that chapter.

And here’s the most basic snippet to gain some understanding about an item. properties of… some item works in many AppleScript-aware applications and instances.

tell application id "DNtp"
	set sel to selection
	properties of (item 1 of sel)
end tell