How to Send Web Archives Where I Want Them

Yet another newbie question (deal gently with me):

It seems that whenever I am browsing the web and come upon a web site I want to archive, it’s always sent to the wrong database. My understanding is that the Web Archive button in Safari will send the archive to whichever database I was in last or am in. But I’m never in the right database. So then I have to find the archive, delete it, open up the correct database, and do the whole operation again. This is a pain.

My dear hubby says I always tend to make things harder than they should be, so I expect there’s probably an easy solution to this (when, oh when, will Devonthink2 with multiple database support be here?).

If it requires Apple Script, you’ll have to explain what I’m supposed to do v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y. I’m a Mac newbie too.

Thanks,

Susan

I’ll just add one more thought to my own question, since I’m still comparing DTP with Eagle Filer.

In EF, when you want to do a web archive, you hit a hot key (in my case I set it up for F5) and it will send directly to whichever database is current (I think). If you hit option-hot key, you get a dialog box which allows you to designate where you want the archive to go. This just makes a lot of sense to me–it’s so much easier than the process I described above. And, no Apple-scripting needed.

Anyone know if in DTP 2 they’re going to make web archiving more user friendly?

S

I don’t know this for a fact, but I assume that they will. Since DTP2 is going to handle multiple simultaneously-open databases, they’re no doubt revamping some of the old assumptions and the current scripts to handle things like this.

I think the easiest way to do this, if you have multiple databases open at the same time, is to create Automator workflows that will handle imports into different, specified databases. Automator is simple, compared to AppleScript, so you might be able to do that yourself.