How to shorten a long workflow?

Fig 1.jpgI have a Group in DEVONthink Pro Office which contains RTFs of daily readings listed in groups of 3 days—1 reading is repeated 3 times a year, (see attached illustration). At the moment I open DTPO>Open the correct Database>Open the correct Group>Open the correct Day, a laborious process! It would be great if I could somehow cut this process down and I wonder if one of the great techie brains on this forum can think of a way to do this. I did wonder about emailing myself every day with the day’s reading but do not know how this could be accomplished without the hassle of adding copy/paste etc. to the above workflow! I suppose what I really need is a way to open the correct reading with a keystroke, (I do have Keyboard Maestro but only just bought it so am a complete novice). Much obliged for any ideas and help. Cheers.

In reply to myself I have found that I can create a control document in a stickies app that accepts DEVONthink “copy item links” so if I make a list with these links in the stickie app I will have a clickable index which opens up the correct reading. This is a lot better than my present set up! Any better ideas most welcome.

Here’s a little something fun…

tell application id "DNtp"
	activate
	try
		open window for record (item 1 of (search (do shell script "date +'%b *%d'") in (get record at "/Group 01" in database "+ In Arbeit") within titles)) -- A quick name search based on todays date - and this expects a fairly rigorous filenaming.
		-- Obviously you'd customize the Group and Database here.
		-- It's best to be more specific than less.
		-- And yes, it will error if the database isn't open (though you COULD code opening it too, if you had a mind to).
	on error errnum
		if (errnum = "Can’t get item 1 of {}.") then set errnum to "Can't find a file matching today's date."
		display alert "" & errnum
	end try
end tell